Still a Suburban Survivalist


Although my family and I escaped the DC area and are now located somewhere in middle-America (the fly over states!), turns out I’m still a suburban survivalist. I’d dreamed of getting a few acres off the beaten path, but reality struck. While we’re now far from the eastern hordes and well west of the Mississippi, my job is still tied to an area with a fairly good-sized metropolitan area.

In my current situation, I believe the lessons of Fer Fal (Surviving in Argentina) fully apply. In a nutshell, Fer Fal has demonstrated that rural areas near cities = worst place to be during collapse, even the partial one that Argentina went through. Where I grew up in truly rural Nebraska, not so much; America is a big place, “rural” areas are not equal, and Fer Fal’s observations/generalizations just won’t apply in remote rural areas that are less accessible.

I won’t get into specific details for OPSEC reasons, but the greater metro area I’m now in is many hundreds of thousand of folks. Even though I work on the fringes of that, 20-30 minutes further out just isn’t going to be safe if times go from the current hard to harder.

Anecdotal stories from some of my new co-workers living in nearby rural areas confirm frequent trespassing even now (usually city types trying their hand at hunting, but sometimes other idiots). If times get really bad it would be hard to defend, and impossible to watch over my family while at work. I could find a place an hour or more out that would be more remote and safer, but commuting that much is not something I’m willing to do.

So we’ve settled into a large, newer suburban home with much more than enough space for our three kids and plenty of storage for current and future preps, and very affordable relative to the east coast. It takes 20 minutes from door to desk. The yard is big enough for a large garden for experimenting with heritage seeds. If/when TSHTF we’ll be bugging out the MUCH shorter distance to my parents’ place in rural Nebraska. If we had to go on food, no need to worry about going through areas of dense population. Conversely, if that area is hit by some localized disaster, we’ll have enough space, food, etc. to welcome all of them here.

Living in the suburbs is not how I grew up and now how I imagined this move would go. But it’s not the end of the world and there are a few benefits.

I’ll keep posting here (another coming soon), but much less than before. Getting into a new home, a new job, and with the kids getting older just takes up more time. If I have to choose between doing and writing, do will win just about every time.

View the original article here

About Paul Simard

I was born in 1955. I discovered my first personal computer in 1977 while in the U.S.A.F. I was hooked, but loved them too much to turn them into a job at the time. Now, it seems a good time to do that, but on my terms. So, here we are. I'll be writing about computer builds, OS and software installations, configurations on all, as well as commenting about the obstacles met and how I overcome them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

